Avoid getting locked out by adding a valid email address or mobile phone on your Yahoo account in case you forget or lose your password. 10 email addresses can be added or replaced including those that have been removed recently and current emails.

 

Using a mobile app to edit recovery info

 

All Yahoo apps don’t have this feature. Touch ID, phone passcode or password will be required will be required if your app has this feature.

 

  1. Open settings by tapping on the Settings icon.
  2. Go to Manage Accounts > Account Info > Security Settings.
  3. Select Phone numbers or Email addresses.
  4. Select Add recovery phone number or Add recovery email address.
  5. Follow the on-screen instructions for entering and verifying new info.

 

Removing a recovery method:

Under Account Info, select the Delete icon next to the unwanted contact.

Using a web browser to edit recovery info

  1. Open the Yahoo Account security page. (https://login.yahoo.com/?done=https%3A%2F%2Flogin.yahoo.com%2Faccount%2Fsecurity%3F.lang%3Den-US%26.intl%3Dus%26.src%3Dyhelp%26.scrumb%3D0&.intl=us&.lang=en-US&.src=yhelp)
  2. Select Email addresses or Phone numbers.
  3. Select Add recovery phone number or Add recovery email address.
  4. Follow the on-screen instructions for entering and verifying new info.

 

Removing a recovery method:

 

Under Account Info, select the Delete icon next to the unwanted contact.

Remove recovery info from an unrecognized or unused account

You must be signed out from the associated account before removing an email or phone number.

  1. Open the Sign-in Helper page. (https://login.yahoo.com/account/challenge/username?authMechanism=secondary&done=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.yahoo.com%2F&sessionIndex=Qg–)
  2. Provide your alternate email address or mobile phone number.
  3. Select Continue.
  4. Select Yes, text me a verification code.
    -A verification code will be sent to your email or phone.
  5. Provide the verification code in the relevant field.
  6. Select Verify.
  7. Select Continue.
  8. Select remove it here from the bottom your connected recovery accounts list.
  9. Select the Delete icon next to the account you wish to remove.
  10. Select Remove this account.